St Jon

subglobal1 link | subglobal1 link | subglobal1 link | subglobal1 link | subglobal1 link | subglobal1 link | subglobal1 link
subglobal2 link | subglobal2 link | subglobal2 link | subglobal2 link | subglobal2 link | subglobal2 link | subglobal2 link
subglobal3 link | subglobal3 link | subglobal3 link | subglobal3 link | subglobal3 link | subglobal3 link | subglobal3 link
subglobal4 link | subglobal4 link | subglobal4 link | subglobal4 link | subglobal4 link | subglobal4 link | subglobal4 link
subglobal5 link | subglobal5 link | subglobal5 link | subglobal5 link | subglobal5 link | subglobal5 link | subglobal5 link
subglobal6 link | subglobal6 link | subglobal6 link | subglobal6 link | subglobal6 link | subglobal6 link | subglobal6 link
subglobal7 link | subglobal7 link | subglobal7 link | subglobal7 link | subglobal7 link | subglobal7 link | subglobal7 link
subglobal8 link | subglobal8 link | subglobal8 link | subglobal8 link | subglobal8 link | subglobal8 link | subglobal8 link

Welcome to St Mary Orthodox Church, Chambersburg, PA

 

Welcome to Saint Mary Orthodox Church

St Mary is an Orthodox Christian Church. Organized in August 1995, with its first Divine Liturgy September 15, 1995, it is the only Orthodox Church in Franklin County, Pennsylvania, and serves the entire community, without regard to ethnic background. Our membership includes people of Greek, Russian, Bulgarian, Egyptian, and Iraqi descent, as well as people whose families came from Italy, England, Germany, Slovakia, and Slovenia, and the dates of immigration to what is now the United States range from 1621 to1990.

ABOUT OUR PRIEST We are very fortunate in having as our Priest one of the most outstanding Priests of the Antiochian Archdiocese, Fr Theodore Pulcini.

More

This Week's Schedule

Wed., 8 Oct.                            BIBLE STUDY, 7 p.m
Saturday, 11 Oct.       VESPERS/Confessions, 6 p.m.
Sunday, 12 Oct.          Matins, 9 a.m. / DIVINE LITURGY, 10 a.m.
                                                            Parish Council meeting following Liturgy

THIS WEEK

 

ST Luke October 18

The Holy Disciple and Evangelist Luke, was a native of Syrian Antioch, a Disciple from amongst the Seventy, a companion of the holy Apostle Paul (Phil. 1: 24, 2 Tim. 4: 10-11), and a physician enlightened in the Greek medical arts. Hearing about Christ, Luke arrived in Palestine and here he fervently accepted the preaching of salvation from the Lord Himself. Included amidst the number of the Seventy Disciples, Saint Luke was sent by the Lord with the others for the first preaching about the Kingdom of Heaven while yet during the earthly life of the Saviour (Lk. 10: 1-3). After the Resurrection, the Lord Jesus Christ appeared to Saints Luke and Cleopas on the road to Emmaus.

The Disciple Luke took part in the second missionary journey of the Apostle Paul, and from that time they were inseparable. At a point when all his co-workers had left the Apostle Paul, the Disciple Luke stayed on with him to tackle all the toiling of pious deeds (2 Tim. 4: 10-11). After the martyr's death of the First-Ranked Apostles Peter and Paul, Saint Luke left Rome to preach in Achaeia, Libya, Egypt and the Thebaid. In the city of Thebes he finished his life in martyrdom.

.OCTOBER

Wed., 15 Oct.                          BIBLE STUDY, 7 p.m.
Saturday, 18 Oct.       VESPERS/Confessions, 6 p.m.
Sunday, 19 Oct.          Metalepsis, 9:15 a.m.; Third and Sixth Hours, 9:40 a.m.
                                                            DIVINE LITURGY, 10 a.m.
Wed., 22 Oct.                          NO BIBLE STUDY (Fr. Ted out of town)
Saturday, 25 Oct.       NO VESPERS (Fr. Ted out of town)
Sunday, 26 Oct.          Matins, 9 a.m. / DIVINE LITURGY, 10 a.m.
                                                            ANNUAL PARISH MEETING following Liturgy
Wed., 29 Oct.                          BIBLE STUDY, 7 p.m.
NOVEMBER
                                                           
Saturday, 1 Nov.        VESPERS/Confessions, 6 p.m.
Sunday, 2 Nov.                       [DAYLIGHT SAVING TIME ENDS.]
                                                            Metalepsis, 9:15 a.m.; Third and Sixth Hours, 9:40 a.m.
                                                            DIVINE LITURGY, 10 a.m.
Wed., 5 Nov.                           BIBLE STUDY, 7 p.m.
Saturday, 8 Nov.        VESPERS/Confessions, 6 p.m.
Sunday, 9 Nov.                       Matins, 9 a.m. / DIVINE LITURGY, 10 a.m.
                                                            Parish Council meeting following Liturgy
Wed., 12 Nov.                         BIBLE STUDY, 7 p.m.
Saturday, 15 Nov.      NATIVITY FAST BEGINS.
                                                            VESPERS/Confessions 6 p.m.
Sunday, 16 Nov.         Metalepsis, 9:15 a.m.; Third and Sixth Hours, 9:40 a.m.
                                                            DIVINE LITURGY), 10 a.m.
Wed., 19 Nov.                         NO BIBLE STUDY
Thurs., 20 Nov.           VESPERAL LITURGY FOR THE ENTRANCE OF THE THEOTOKOS INTO THE TEMPLE, 7 p.m. 
Saturday, 22 Nov.      BISHOP THOMAS HERE!
                                                            VESPERS/Confessions, 6 p.m.
Sunday, 23 Nov.         Matins, 9 a.m.
                                                            HIERARCHICAL DIVINE LITURGY, 10 a.m.
                                                            [Parish picture with Bishop THOMAS after Liturgy]
Wed., 26 Nov.                         NO ADULT STUDY
Saturday, 29 Nov.      NO VESPERS
Sunday, 30 Dec.          NO SUNDAY SCHOOL
                                                            Matins, 9 a.m. / DIVINE LITURGY, 10 a.m.

DECEMBER
                                               
Wed., 3 Dec.                           BIBLE STUDY, 7 p.m.
Saturday, 6 Dec.         VESPERS/Confessions, 6 p.m.
Sunday, 7 Dec.                        Metalepsis, 9:15 a.m.; Third and Sixth Hours, 9:40 a.m. 
                                                            DIVINE LITURGY, 10 a.m. (St. Nicholas Day Celebration)
Wed., 10 Dec.                         BIBLE STUDY, 7 p.m.  (Next Bible Study 21 Jan. 2015)
Saturday, 13 Dec.       VESPERS/Confessions, 6 p.m.
Sunday, 14 Dec.          Matins, 9 a.m. / DIVINE LITURGY, 10 a.m.
                                                            Parish Council meeting following Liturgy
Saturday, 20 Dec.       VESPERS/Confessions, 6 p.m.
Sunday, 21 Dec.          Metalepsis, 9:15 a.m.; Third and Sixth Hours, 9:40 a.m.
                                                            DIVINE LITURGY, 10 a.m.
Wed., 24 Dec.                         Hours of the Nativity, 10 a.m.
                                                            ***NATIVITY MATINS, 7 p.m.***


                                                ***NATIVITY LITURGY (Christmas) – 8 p.m.***  (No services during the daylight hours of Christmas Day, 25 December!)

Saturday, 27 Dec.       NO VESPERS
Sunday, 28 Dec.          TYPIKA SERVICE with Communion, 10 a.m.


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Us | Site Map | | Contact us| ©2009 St Mary Orthodox Church